Crock Pot Cashew Chicken

The crock pot..

Cashew Chicken

Cashew Chicken

really simplifies my life in the kitchen. So when my friend Laura graciously passed on the recipe for Crock Pot Cashew Chicken, it made me very happy. It was so easy and ended up being really tasty. If you have very little time to prepare and cook a meal, this one is perfect. Below are the ingredients the recipe calls for, however I noted some things I would change next time around.

Ingredients:

10.75 can condensed golden mushroom soup
3 tbsp soy sauce (next time I may try Bragg Liquid Aminos)
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 1/2 pounds of chicken tenderloins
16 oz. package of frozen broccoli stir fry vegetable blend (my suggestion would be to use fresh broccoli, because the frozen one ended up getting too soft)
4 oz can sliced mushrooms (I used half a package of fresh mushrooms)
1/2 cup cashews
Hot cooked brown rice (might be good over quinoa as well)

Directions:

In a 4 quart slow cooker combine mushroom soup, soy sauce and ginger. Stir in chicken, stir-fry vegetables and mushrooms (again I would use all fresh veggies).

Cover and cook on low heat setting for 6 to 8 hours or on high-heat setting for 3 to 4 hours.

At last-minute stir cashews into chicken mixture (I added them too soon and they got too soft). Serve over rice and enjoy!

Photo: My Favorite Things

-three

Leave a Reply

