Hot Sauce Recipe

I was speechless..

Hot Sauce Recipe

Hot Sauce Recipe

when I stumbled upon this recipe earlier today.  As I said, I love HOT SAUCE – I use it every opportunity I get, the amount I can dump on pretty much anything is almost embarrassing, but I can’t help it! Thanks to Etsy’s How-Tuesday, I can now make it by the gallons – check it out..

Ingredients:
2.5 ounces of dried New Mexico chilies
4-6 chili de arbol (depending on desired spiciness)
4 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons salt
1 cup apple cider or white distilled vinegar
1 cup water
1 tablespoon aged sherry

Directions:
1 Bring a small pot of water to a boil.
2 Clean chilies with a damp cloth.
3 Remove stems and place chilies in a medium bowl.
4 Pour just enough boiling water over the chilies to cover.
5 Place a small plate over the chilies to submerge them in water.
6 Set aside for 20 minutes, or until the chilies are rehydrated, soft and pliable.
7 Place the chilies in a blender.
8 Add the garlic, salt and vinegar.
9 Puree on high until a uniform paste forms. Thin the paste with water or, if it’s palatable, with the soaking liquid. Blend again. Add sherry. Taste and adjust seasoning.

Photo: Etsy

-twentyeight

Leave a Reply

